Tags

, , ,

2 Corinthians 5:7
(For we walk by faith, not by sight:)

This is a short, direct, simple and eternally profound statement made by the Apostle Paul in his second letter to the church at Corinth.

Most often in life when you have made a decision to give yourself to the LORD and you have surrendered your life into His hands you will not understand what the LORD is doing, His timing, nor why He is doing it the way that He is. The Bible says in Hebrews 11:6, “But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.” So I don’t have to see or understand anything. All I have to do is believe that He is and that He rewards those who diligently seek Him.

The LORD is not a mean ugly God who is unable to be pleased. He wants us to please Him more than we want to please Him. How wrong would it be for the LORD to place us in situations where it would be impossible to please Him? On the contrary He has set us up for success so that we can please Him. We do have the faith necessary to please Him. He has already put it inside of us. That is why the Bible says that greater is he that is in you than he that is in the world.

The beautiful part is that sight and understanding is not necessary to please Him. Sight and understanding will come but to please Him all I have to do is believe that He is and that He rewards those that diligently seek Him. I don’t even have to have a perfect track record. All I have to do is believe that He is and get back up when I fall and start back seeking Him again.

So we walk by faith and not by sight. What is faith? One definition of faith would be unswerving loyalty to the LORD. In whatever situation I am in, regardless of how hopeless and out of control things seem and no matter if I can’t see the next step I am unswervingly loyal to the LORD. I believe that He is and I believe that He is a rewarder of those that diligently seek Him. Then I am pleasing to the LORD and then the sight and understanding will come.

