Tags

, , , , , ,

Hebrews 12:1-2
Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us, Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.

Racing with patience seems to be a phrase of conflict. Isn’t a race to be run with speed as we compete to win? This is a different sort of race. The competition in this race is with myself and not with my brother, my parents, my boss or my spouse. This is not a race that we are allowed to choose but it is a race that is set before us. If we had a choice about our race track through life we most assuredly would have chosen an easier track.

We are directed in this passage of God’s Word to lay aside the sin which doth so easily beset us and run with patience the race that is set before us. The thing that causes me to be set on the sidelines and not progress in my race is not what someone else is doing to me or what someone else did do to me. The thing that causes me to be set on the sidelines is within me.

I have no control over other people’s choices and actions. All I have control of is myself. I don’t even really have any control over the race that was set in front of me. I was born into the circumstances in this life that God allowed and not of my own choosing. I am left with no option but to lay aside the sin that doth so easily beset me and run with patience the race that is set before me. That is certainly the sin I discover inside myself but it is also the sin of others around me when that is a hindrance to me running my race. It is a hard thing but sometimes when other situations are preventing you from running the race the LORD set before you, it is necessary to lay that aside and move in your race.

Hebrews 11:6, “But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.” Lay aside the weight and sin that is hindering you and press on in the race that the LORD set before you. He is a rewarder of them that diligently seek Him.

