Tags

, , , ,

Isaiah 52:1-3
Awake, awake; put on thy strength, O Zion; put on thy beautiful garments, O Jerusalem, the holy city: for henceforth there shall no more come into thee the uncircumcised and the unclean. Shake thyself from the dust; arise, and sit down, O Jerusalem: loose thyself from the bands of thy neck, O captive daughter of Zion. For thus saith the LORD, Ye have sold yourselves for nought; and ye shall be redeemed without money.

The LORD commands His people, His bride, in this passage of scripture to awake and put on her beautiful garments. To awake means to arouse oneself and be alert and watchful. It is the same word used in the Song of Solomon 5:2 when the bride said, “I sleep, but my heart waketh: it is the voice of my beloved that knocketh…” It is the Voice of the LORD that awakes my heart. It is the Word of God that awakes me, gives me life, inspires me, gives me direction and sustains me. Anything I receive in life beyond God’s Holy Word is a bonus. It is His Word I must have. If that doesn’t fit within your interpretations and understandings I would suggest that you spend your time as I do in seeking the face of God and I can promise that you will be eternally glad when you discover the stream of God’s Word and life He has for you.

When you have discovered God’s Voice personally and learn how to tap into that stream of life that comes from God’s Word it will be obvious. The proof is you will have no problem putting on your beautiful garments.

This word beautiful means beauty, splendour, glory. It is the beauty and glory that comes from unity. Psalm 89:17, “For thou art the glory of their strength: and in thy favour our horn shall be exalted.” So when their collective strength came together as one, the glory of unity was there.

I would suggest, therefore, that as long as we are convinced that someone must see it like we do and as long as we think that it must be our way or no way, that we have still not been awakened by God’s Voice nor have we put on our beautiful garments for the lover of our soul. As long as someone confesses that Jesus Christ is Lord to the glory of God the Father we are of the same family and under obligation to put on beautiful garments for our LORD. The moment I decide that someone is not as spiritual as me and that my garment is more beautiful than theirs I have violated and transgressed the Fifth Commandment, honor thy Father and Mother that thy days may be long upon the land which the LORD thy God giveth thee.

