Tags

, , , ,

Psalm 18:20-21
The LORD rewarded me according to my righteousness; according to the cleanness of my hands hath he recompensed me. For I have kept the ways of the LORD, and have not wickedly departed from my God.

The LORD is going to reward me according to my righteousness? Now that is a scary thought! I’m thinking that if He rewards me according to “my” righteousness I’m going to be in big trouble. The Bible says in Romans 3:10,” As it is written, There is none righteous, no, not one:”

So what is this righteousness that I get rewarded for? What can this poor finite, feeble creature, called me, possibly do that could even remotely be considered righteousness? Simply put righteousness is nothing more than a right act and the only right act a sinful human being can possibly perform is to repent of and for whatever we are currently seeing as wrong in our life. There is nothing else righteous that I can do. Even if I manage to completely and correctly obey a commandment from the LORD, He must get all the glory and credit for that as it was obviously Him doing it through me. I am wholly incapable of correctly and completely keeping His commandments without Him doing it through me.

The only righteous act I can do is to repent of the things in my life that are unlike Jesus Christ. That is a right thing to do. The Psalmist said, “The LORD rewarded me according to my righteousness; according to the cleanness of my hands hath he recompensed me.” The Psalmist’s righteousness was the cleanness of his hands. The only way to get my hands clean is through repentance of and for the things in my hands that are unlike Jesus Christ. That is a right thing to do.

Repentance not only cleanses my hands but it justifies, as it were, and gives meaning to our Lord’s suffering and death on Calvary’s cross. Jesus did not die in vain. I can have clean hands and perform a righteous act, namely repenting for the things in my hands that are unlike Jesus Christ.

