Tags

, , , , , ,

1 John 4:8
He that loveth not knoweth not God; for God is love.

The simple bottom line truth of life is that God is love. According to Matthew 22:36-40 everything comes down to and rests upon two simple commandments. Number one, we are to love the LORD our God with all our heart, soul and all our mind and number two, we are to love our neighbor as our self. If we don’t love then there is an area of our life that we have not yet surrendered to the LORD and allowed Him to be the King thereof. It is a daily occurrence to discover an area in your life that has not yet been filled with the love of God when you are walking with Jesus and living an honest life. Have you never said, “Oh I just hate when that happens” or “Oh I can’t stand them”? There is a part of my life not yet filled with the love of God.

The LORD has given us ten model commandments that show us how to love the LORD and then how to love our neighbor as our self. The first five commandments show me how to love the LORD and the second five commandments show me how to love my neighbor as myself. The first five commandments fit with the second five commandments like a hand in a glove, as it were, teaching us how to love completely.

The first commandment is how I love the LORD and it fits with the sixth commandment which has to do with loving my neighbor. If we accept the LORD as our God we surely will not kill our neighbor. If we don’t have any false gods we are worshipping we surely will not commit adultery. If we are not making the LORD’s Name vain, empty and meaningless we surely will not steal. When I am keeping the Sabbath Day holy I will not bear false witness and if I am honoring my Father and my Mother, both spiritual and natural, I will not covet.

When I put the LORD first in my life and love Him with all my heart, soul and mind I will have no problem loving my neighbor as myself. Likewise when I am having a problem finding God’s love in a particular situation or circumstance, then there is most certainly an area of my life that I can more fully surrender to the love of God in.

