Tags

, , , , , , ,

Genesis 28:20-21
And Jacob vowed a vow, saying, If God will be with me, and will keep me in this way that I go, and will give me bread to eat, and raiment to put on, So that I come again to my father’s house in peace; then shall the LORD be my God:

Oh what Jacob must have thought as he was forced out of his father’s house by his very own mother. Jacob, the one who had been so careful to do exactly as he had been taught had to leave because his brother Esau had such hatred in his heart that he planned to kill Jacob. It would seem that Esau should have been the one forced to leave instead of being allowed to enjoy the comforts and riches of his father’s house. One can only imagine what everyone must have thought when Jacob left. It most certainly would have appeared that he was being punished.

Regardless of the way things appeared Jacob begin his journey down a path that was misunderstood by all around him. The amazing thing is that Jacob was not very far from his father’s house when he encountered the LORD in a brand new way and had his experience with Jacob’s ladder. Jacob, by inspiration of the Holy Spirit, named that place Bethel, which translated directly into English means the house of God. Isn’t it wild how life can seem to force you into certain paths and there you discover Bethel or the house of God? That certainly can cause much consternation to those you have been separated from and Jacob did experience that. However Jacob had his eyes on the LORD and he vowed his vow clearly in the place where he discovered the LORD in a new way that night at Bethel. Genesis 28:20-21, “And Jacob vowed a vow, saying, If God will be with me, and will keep me in this way that I go, and will give me bread to eat, and raiment to put on, So that I come again to my father’s house in peace; then shall the LORD be my God:”

Jacob wasn’t asking for a lot. He asked for the LORD’s protection, he asked for food and he asked for clothing. In exchange for these simple necessities Jacob promised that the LORD would be his God. Because of this simple request and because of Jacob’s simple vow he returned from all of his journeys’ as a rich man both spiritually and naturally.

