Tags

, , , , , ,

Job 22:21-22
Acquaint now thyself with him, and be at peace: thereby good shall come unto thee. Receive, I pray thee, the law from his mouth, and lay up his words in thine heart.

The way to be at peace with God is to acquaint myself with Him. To acquaint myself with God means to show harmony with, be familiar with and to know intimately. Now we will never know everything about God, how could we? He is infinite, He is omnipresent, omniscient and omnipotent. Therefore we will spend eternity having new experiences in the LORD and learning new things about His grace and mercy. However we can acquaint ourselves with Him.

When I have truly acquainted myself with the LORD I may not know nor understand what He is doing in a particular situation but there is no doubt in my mind that His intentions toward me are good and that He loves me and that what is happening is for my good and for His glory. The evidence that I am truly acquainted with the LORD is that there is a peace in my heart and in my soul and a trust in the Lord no matter what is going on.

Job was lacking that peace at this point in his journey and it was evidenced by the murmuring and by the accusations that were still flowing out of his mouth when he was instructed to, “Acquaint now thyself with him, and be at peace: thereby good shall come unto thee.”

It is quite evident when this peace is in your life and when it’s not. If there is still some lack of peace in an area of my life it is because I still need to become more acquainted with the LORD. I can know someone and still not yet trust them. The result of that is a lack of peace. The scripture said to, “Acquaint now thyself with him, and be at peace: thereby good shall come unto thee.” I can acquaint myself with the LORD for the purpose of good coming to me but that is superficial when compared to living a life filled with the peace of God that is coming from an intimate acquaintance with and a relationship with the Creator of all heaven and earth.

There was a time in Mark the fourth chapter when Jesus and His disciples were in a ship. Jesus was asleep in the hinder part of the ship on a pillow when a storm arose that had the disciples all believing that everyone was going to perish. The disciples ran and woke Jesus up with the accusation, “Master, carest thou not that we perish?” The disciples were not yet as acquainted with Jesus as they needed to be. Jesus arose, rebuked the wind and said peace be still and then a great calm came upon the storm.

Am I acquainted with the Lord well enough that I could rest with Him in the hinder part of the ship even when the storm seems as if it will destroy everything? He is the Prince of Peace. Help me Jesus to become better acquainted with thee.

