Tags

, , , , ,

John 4:24

God is a Spirit: and they that worship him must worship him in spirit and in truth.

We Christians are a mixture of Spirit and flesh. It seems that all too often once a person has walked a distance with Jesus they somehow become infected with the disease of self-righteousness and proceed to pass judgment on every soul and circumstance they come across deciding they are glad they are not like that. In reality the whole purpose of our journey through this present world is for the pleasure of our LORD. Revelation 4:11 says, “Thou art worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honour and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created.” I am here for the express purpose of sharing the love of God in every situation of life I find myself in with an attitude of gratitude.

Every time I share the love of God with an attitude of gratitude it is an act of worship unto my LORD. No wonder Jesus taught that when you do it unto the least of them you have done it unto me. The whole trick is in doing what I do as worship unto the LORD and not because I’m trying to impress someone with my spirituality or because I’m looking for reward for doing the right thing. I am to do the right thing because it is the right thing to do.

God is a Spirit: and they that worship him must worship him in spirit and in truth. God does not want us to worship Him with a fleshly attitude of self-gain, recognition or self-pleasure. 1 John 3:18, “My little children, let us not love in word, neither in tongue; but in deed and in truth.”

It is my acts of worship with a clean spirit that influences those around me to draw closer to the LORD. It’s not when I’m saying the right things that my worship is acceptable to the LORD but it’s deeds of truth done with the love of God that touches other lives and pleases the LORD.

