Tags

, , , ,

Matthew 5:38-42

Ye have heard that it hath been said, An eye for an eye, and a tooth for a tooth: But I say unto you, That ye resist not evil: but whosoever shall smite thee on thy right cheek, turn to him the other also. And if any man will sue thee at the law, and take away thy coat, let him have thy cloke also. And whosoever shall compel thee to go a mile, go with him twain. Give to him that asketh thee, and from him that would borrow of thee turn not thou away.

This can be a difficult scripture to live out in our everyday reality. What is up with all of this?

One thing that can be up with this difficult passage is that we can use the hard circumstances outlined above to prove to the world, the flesh and the enemy that Jesus Christ is our head, our owner and our master and not the things that we are going through. Jesus Christ is my head and not the person smiting me or the suffering that I am walking through.

It is easy on the mountain top of exaltation and pleasure to boldly proclaim that Jesus Christ is the head of my life. It’s an entirely different matter in the valley of darkness, loss and pain when all the feelings of exaltation are gone. Who is the head of my life? Jesus Christ is our head and He has not lost control or been kicked off His throne.

How can I as a finite feeble human being possibly know or understand what God Almighty is doing? I can’t possibly know or understand but I can trust Him and hold His hand as He walks with me through the hard places of life.

The LORD Jesus Christ is the great eternal bookkeeper and His books always balance. If He is allowing things to be taken from me then He has a perfectly good high and holy reason and purpose for doing so. Either I’m making restitution for the past or I’m investing in the future. The point is that the LORD is the head and not some human being. When I turn the other cheek, give more than they asked for and loan without expectation of repayment I prove to myself, to others and to the enemy that Jesus Christ is the head.

Jesus Himself experienced this as He stood before Pilate in John 19:10-11, “Then saith Pilate unto him, Speakest thou not unto me? knowest thou not that I have power to crucify thee, and have power to release thee? Jesus answered, Thou couldest have no power at all against me, except it were given thee from above: therefore he that delivered me unto thee hath the greater sin.”

