Tags

, , , ,

1 Peter 1:22

Seeing ye have purified your souls in obeying the truth through the Spirit unto unfeigned love of the brethren, see that ye love one another with a pure heart fervently:

Peter wrote this in the past tense, “Seeing ye have purified your souls…” This passage is not talking about our initial salvation as that is something that Jesus Christ does and is a free gift to us. This particular passage is talking about something we have to do. “Seeing ye have purified your souls…” So Jesus saves me with His precious shed blood but then after I am saved there is a process of purification I must go through. That process of purification is simply “obeying the truth through the Spirit.”

We are then given a measuring stick so we know when we have completed the process and our soul has been not only saved but purified. I measure up and have met the mark when I have unfeigned love of the brethren. Unfeigned love is undisguised and sincere love. It is unconditional love that is not looking for a payback or recognition. There are plenty of people who have accepted Jesus Christ as their Savior and have not yet purified their soul. The evidence is in every church. Souls that have been saved by the blood of Jesus Christ sitting across the aisle from someone they cannot stand. There is still a stain in the soul.

If I look at someone and feel that little twinge of discomfort there is a stain in my soul that still needs purified. How do I know when I have fully obeyed the truth through the Spirit? I have unfeigned love for the brethren.

The Bible says in John 13:35, “By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.” You can go anywhere and find bickering, ugliness, politics and backbiting. However the mark of a church filled with true disciples of the LORD is that they have love one to another.

