Tags

, , , , ,

1 Peter 2:9-10

But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light: Which in time past were not a people, but are now the people of God: which had not obtained mercy, but now have obtained mercy.

We are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation and a peculiar people and it is for a very specific purpose. It is not because we are good and because we practice this religious thing so well. As the song written by Dottie Rambo says, “Nothing good have I done to deserve God’s own Son. I’m not worthy of the scars in His hands.” Rather He chose our generation, inducted us into the royal priesthood, made us into an holy nation and a peculiar people because we are to shew forth the praises of him.

What overwhelming, depressing and hopeless darkness filled my life until one day the mercy of God Almighty filled my life and I was translated from the kingdom of darkness into His marvelous light. The darkness and depression fled as the Son of Righteousness arose in my world. Now my purpose in life is to shew forth the praises of God. Every breath I breathe and every step I take is a testimony of the goodness of God and His infinite mercy. Out of bondage and into the light, it demonstrates His unconditional love that He has freely given to me.

It is not about a religious experience and becoming good enough by heaping up enough good works that Jesus Christ is proud of me. It is all about my every breath being a testimony and a living praise demonstrating the praise due Jesus Christ who is the one that completed the works when He died on Calvary’s cross, was buried and rose again accomplishing my salvation and taking back the keys of death and hell.

We no longer have to live in death, hell and torment. Jesus has taken the keys back. In the midst of the worst that life sometimes brings our way we can live in peace knowing that the price has already been paid and we have been translated from darkness into His marvelous light.

To God be all the glory and praise!

