Tags

, , , , ,

James 1:25

But whoso looketh into the perfect law of liberty, and continueth therein, he being not a forgetful hearer, but a doer of the work, this man shall be blessed in his deed.

A law is comprised of requirements and enforced by sanctions. The word law is not normally associated with freedom. The use of these two contradictory terms, “law” and “liberty” together, make the point, that there is an entirely new way of thinking about both.

The perfect liberty found in Christ’s love in the New Testament fulfils the requirements of the law requiring perfection in the Old Testament. Human beings could never keep and fulfil the perfection required by the ceremonial rituals in the Old Testament. However when we discover and submit ourselves to the love of Jesus Christ displayed in the New Testament we have perfect liberty.

We are set free from the death and punishment required by the law when we accept the love and sacrifice of Jesus Christ. That is perfect liberty.

The perfect law of liberty is Christ loved me and gave Himself for me. To be blessed in my deeds I cannot just hear about Christ’s love but I must accept it and then go out and practice it by loving the LORD with all my heart, soul and mind and then by loving my neighbor as myself.

1 John 3:18, “My little children, let us not love in word, neither in tongue; but in deed and in truth.” We can talk about the love of Christ all day but for the blessings of the LORD to rest upon my deeds I cannot just talk about living and sharing the love of Christ but I must actually share the love of Christ with those who cross my path through deeds of love and in truth and not just because I am trying to prove how righteous and spiritual I am. That is loving in true liberty.

When we view others through judgmental eyes comparing them to the way we feel like they should be living their life then we have not yet been set free. Regardless of what someone else believes, looks like or the way they are acting we can still experience and have our own freedom by practicing the perfect law of liberty when we love the LORD with all our heart, soul and mind and when we love our neighbor as ourselves. You and I do not have to agree on anything in order to live in peace and love one another. The fact that the breath of life in your body and in mine came from the same place is sufficient cause for us to love one another and live in peace.

