Tags

, , , , , ,

Matthew 13:44

Again, the kingdom of heaven is like unto treasure hid in a field; the which when a man hath found, he hideth, and for joy thereof goeth and selleth all that he hath, and buyeth that field.

The kingdom of heaven is a phrase that helps us to understand our relationship with the Lord as we walk through this life. There are many things said about the kingdom of heaven in the Bible, however the repeated theme is that it is something that grows and matures in our life over process of time. Matthew 13:33, “Another parable spake he unto them; The kingdom of heaven is like unto leaven, which a woman took, and hid in three measures of meal, till the whole was leavened.”

So when Christ comes into our life and is planted in our heart His rule and reign grows and expands in our life until the whole is leavened.

We are the field where the seed of treasure called the kingdom of heaven is planted. That treasure, the redeeming presence of Jesus Christ living in our heart, brings such joy that we begin the process of selling everything we have in order to buy the whole field. When we discover the joy in Jesus Christ we sell everything we have so that the whole field might be cultivated into a beautiful and priceless expanse of treasure where Jesus Christ is not just my Savior but He is also my all in all.

I sell all I have. All the un-Christ like attitudes and dispositions, all the unforgiveness and every weed and stone in the field has to go that the seed of treasure hid in the field called the kingdom of heaven might grow until it consumes my life and my every thought and deed is controlled by the love of Jesus Christ. I no longer spend my days seeking self pleasure but rather I am cultivating the field that the influence of the kingdom of heaven may grow in my life.

In Romans 14:7 the Apostle Paul said, “For the kingdom of God is not meat and drink; but righteousness, and peace, and joy in the Holy Ghost.”

It is not about redemption through works and self-righteousness. Rather it is about the righteousness, peace and joy I discover in Jesus Christ as the kingdom of heaven and the rule and reign of Jesus Christ grows in my life.

