Tags

, , , , ,

1 John 5:20

And we know that the Son of God is come, and hath given us an understanding, that we may know him that is true, and we are in him that is true, even in his Son Jesus Christ. This is the true God, and eternal life.

How do we know when we have found the true God in the midst of our circumstances and situations and not some idol image we have dreamed up in our mind? How do we know we have found the true God and we are not just attempting to conform to some religious tenant we have been taught all of our life?

We have found the true God when we are in His Son, Jesus Christ. Hasn’t that been the big fight and controversy down through the years? Namely who is really the Son of God? The true Son of God gives understanding. What then is true understanding and what is the evidence that this understanding is present in my life?

The word translated as understanding in the English in this particular verse means the mind as a faculty of understanding, feeling and desiring. It is used in Matthew 22:37, “Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind.” With all thy mind or with all thy understanding.

So I have found the true God when I can love with all my heart, soul and mind. Any thought or image that is less than the love of God originated somewhere other than in God.

The question becomes then, what is God’s way of love in the circumstances I find myself in? Love, joy, peace and freedom is found walking in God’s way of love. Living in and existing in the true God and His Son Jesus Christ is where I will find the life and strength I need to do the will of God where I am today. A true win win solution for all connected to and touched by my circumstances is in me finding the true God and His Son Jesus Christ.

Therein is eternal life.

