Tags

, , , , , ,

1 Timothy 1:15

This is a faithful saying, and worthy of all acceptation, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners; of whom I am chief.

Timothy was the Apostle Paul’s disciple who also became Paul’s companion and co-laborer. Timothy was made the Bishop of Ephesus and was entrusted with important assignments by Paul. In Paul’s first epistle to Timothy he makes the point that the number one reason Jesus Christ came to earth was to die for sinners.

Jesus didn’t come to earth to deliver the church from the tyrannical rule and reign of the Romans, He didn’t come to make the preachers heroes that everyone would worship and give all their money to and He didn’t come to make sure everyone knew how wise and spiritual you are.

Jesus Christ came to earth for the express purpose of saving sinners.

Therefore if I don’t see how I am a sinner and how I need Jesus Christ I am not going to be able to find Him. While that is certainly true in my initial experience of salvation when Jesus comes into my heart and translates me from the kingdom of darkness into His marvelous light, it is also true on a daily basis. I should begin every day at the feet of Jesus Christ allowing the blood of Calvary’s cross to flow down and cover me with fresh life for that day.

We aren’t even aware of how deep mortal thinking runs in our being until we have spent time at the feet of Jesus allowing Him to illuminate our being with His love, light and life. When we learn to pay attention to the words that come out of our mouth I think we will find, that like the Apostle Paul, we must confess, I am the chief of sinners and I am still persecuting the believers.

It is subtle, as it was in Genesis 3:1, when the Bible says, “Now the serpent was more subtil than any beast of the field which the LORD God had made. And he said unto the woman, Yea, hath God said, Ye shall not eat of every tree of the garden?” We don’t recognize it but when we say, they just don’t see the truth like we do, and when we say, well they aren’t going where I’m going, then we have assumed the judgment seat when in fact we need to be on our face at the foot of the cross.

Dear Jesus please show us how to get off the judgment seat and take our rightful place, on our face, at the foot of thy holy cross where the ground is level.

