Tags

, , , , , ,

Romans 8:15-16

For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, Abba, Father. The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God:

The word Abba means the author or maker of anything, a nourisher. It was the LORD God Almighty who planned and wrote out the story of our life. Then after He wrote it out He brought us into existence and we began the journey of our life. As it did with Jesus Christ, that journey has, at times, led us through misunderstanding, accusations, abuse and a cross of crucifixion. However at the end of the day our Father was always there and nourished us with whatever we had need of in order to take the next step. No wonder we are taught to pray, “Our Father which art in heaven, hallowed be thy Name.”

In the midst of the trials of life we can reach a place where a cry comes out of our heart, “Abba Father.” In other words, Father you are my nourisher, the author and sustainer of my life, I shall not be afraid. As the twenty-third Psalm says, “The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.” Again it says, “Yea though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death I will fear no evil, for thou art with me.”  As Jesus did on the cross, let us cry, “Father into thy hands I commend my spirit.”

We are so fearful we are not going to be able to live up to someone’s expectations or to some set of rules. We have not received the spirit of bondage again. Jesus set us free when He purchased our redemption at Calvary’s cross and when He saved our soul. Why do we want to take on the spirit of bondage again when we are alive in His love? We have been adopted by God the Father through the blood of His Son Jesus Christ. He is the author and maker and He is a nourisher. We should be crying Abba Father! Into thy hands I commend my spirit.

I don’t need a human being to tell me I’m okay. It is the Spirit of God that bears witness to my spirit when I’m in a relationship of love and peace with Jesus Christ. What freedom, for we have not been given the spirit of bondage again.

