Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Job 17:9

The righteous also shall hold on his way, and he that hath clean hands shall be stronger and stronger.

The righteous shall also hold on his way. The word way in this scripture means a military way. It is what the Apostle Paul was talking about when he said, “Forgetting those things which are behind I press towards the mark for the prize of the high calling.” Paul had to press forward because he was walking in a military way of opposition. When we are pressing towards the mark for the prize of the high calling we can expect to travel a military way where we will meet opposition.

The good news is that no matter how stiff the opposition is I can become stronger and stronger. In order to become stronger and stronger all I have to do is have clean hands.

We get clean hands by washing them. The priests in the Old Testament went to the Laver in the courtyard of the Tabernacle and washed their hands. In the New Testament we are told that Christ loved the church and washed it in water by the Word. Therefore no matter how strong the battle I can run to God’s Word and wash my hands in the water of His Word and I will find new strength for the next battle.

It is easy to become discouraged and allow a feeling of defeat to come in with the seemingly constant opposition and battles of life. Regardless of how much discouragement and defeat I am seeing, I can still run to God’s Word, to the Laver and wash my hands. I can live righteous in this wicked world. As a result of me doing my part which is maintaining clean hands in the midst of opposition, God will do His part and give me the supernatural strength I need to victoriously navigate this military way of opposition and finish my race.

