Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Psalm 145:8

The LORD is gracious, and full of compassion; slow to anger, and of great mercy.

In one short verse the Bible shows us how to grow a tree of gratitude and bear fruit of mercy in our life that others may find and feed on. I remember what it’s like when I’m looking for mercy from the LORD because of some issue in my life. Either an issue someone else has created for me or an issue my own dumb choices have caused. It doesn’t matter what has caused the issue, I’m still running to the LORD begging for His mercy. I find His mercy is always there. What life and gratitude is produced in my heart when I feed on the fruit of mercy from Jesus. Likewise I am to produce that same fruit in my life. How sad if I take the fruit of mercy from Jesus and then refuse to allow that fruit to produce the same tree in my life.

A tree in its most basic sense is roots, a trunk, branches and fruit. So it all starts when I put down roots of gratitude. No matter what happens and no matter what is going on, “The LORD is gracious.” That doesn’t have anything to do with how I feel about the situation. My choice is that the LORD is gracious. I choose to put down roots of gratitude instead of attitude. When I water those roots of gratitude, compassion will begin to grow in me and I will find that I can be more like Jesus and be slow to anger. Once compassion and the ability to be slow to anger starts growing in my life, I find it easy then to produce mercy for others.

Roots of gratitude, a trunk of compassion and branches of being slow to anger produces the fruit of mercy in my life for others.

Matthew 5:7, “Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy.”

