Tags

, , , , , , , ,

1 Samuel 12:24

Only fear the LORD, and serve him in truth with all your heart: for consider how great things he hath done for you.

Only fear the LORD. It seems sometimes that we go through life afraid that this is going to go wrong or that I am going to fail at this or that thing or we fear that we will lose our job or our spouse. God’s Word says that we are to fear only the LORD. That doesn’t mean to be afraid of Him because He is mean and is going to get us. It means rather that we are to honor and respect Him because of His great infinite love and concern for us.

We human beings are so quick to consider the negative and everything that can wrong. We spend much more time and energy thinking about and avoiding the negative than we do embracing the positive. I think that if we spent as much time thinking about, looking at and embracing the positive as we do all the potential negative that we would be much farther down the road in our relationship with Jesus and with each other.

Job 3:25 says, “For the thing which I greatly feared is come upon me, and that which I was afraid of is come unto me.” I would suggest that if were to fear only the LORD and give Him the proper reverence, respect and consideration in our daily life that He is worthy of we wouldn’t have to spend near so much time and energy avoiding the negative.

Consider what great things He has already done for you. Life has not been easy. There has been plenty of wrong and plenty of abuse come our way in life. Often times even from those in trusted positions of authority. Yet through it all the LORD awakened me this morning with a praise in my heart and a pull to enter His presence as quickly as I could get there. As I consider the things He has already done in my life and the road He has led me on in my time on His earth I can honestly say He has never done me nothing but good.

As I consider what He has already done in my life I cannot but help to be overwhelmed with love for my Creator. However as I consider what He has already done in my life I must confess that my love for Him pales in the light, life and warmth of His unconditional love for me. To God be all glory and praise.

