Matthew 21:12-14

And Jesus went into the temple of God, and cast out all them that sold and bought in the temple, and overthrew the tables of the moneychangers, and the seats of them that sold doves, And said unto them, It is written, My house shall be called the house of prayer; but ye have made it a den of thieves. And the blind and the lame came to him in the temple; and he healed them.

Jesus went into the literal physical temple while He was on earth and did this and it certainly applies to our churches today. However the most important place I can apply this principle today is in my own life. The Bible says in 1 Corinthians 3:16 that we are the temple of God and that the Spirit of God dwells in us. With that being so I need to apply this principle to my own life personally before I start worrying about anybody else.

The question then is how have I made my temple a den of thieves instead of a house of prayer?

The first way I steal is by not giving God the glory due His Name. The very first thing we should do in any circumstance or situation is to give glory to God Almighty. However we so often immediately recognize some human or the enemy instead of first praising and blessing the Name of the LORD. Regardless of what is going on and regardless of how I feel, the first thing I should always do is praise the Name of the LORD with an attitude of gratitude and thankfulness. Contrariwise it seems that often we put some part of creation first in our life instead of blessing the Creator.

Immediately after this was corrected in the temple the blind and lame begin to be healed. How many healings do I miss in my life because I robbed the Creator of His place in my life by recognizing some part of creation first before I ever get around to blessing and praising the Name of the LORD?

