Tags

, , , , , ,

Psalm 48:1-2

Great is the LORD, and greatly to be praised in the city of our God, in the mountain of his holiness. Beautiful for situation, the joy of the whole earth, is mount Zion, on the sides of the north, the city of the great King.

Great is the LORD! The LORD is great and therefore He is to be greatly praised.

Great as used here means to twist together or to bind together like a cord. It’s like what Rehab did when Israel was about to overtake Jericho. Rehab let a scarlet cord down out of the window and when the walls fell and the Israelites came in, Rehab and her household were spared.

Whenever I find myself in a situation where there seems to be no way out and defeat is imminent all I have to do is twist together a song of praise to the great God. That cord formed by my praise to a great God is my way out. It is God’s part to deliver and save me. My part is only to praise Him right where I am. How great is our God!

Luke 1:31-32, And, behold, thou shalt conceive in thy womb, and bring forth a son, and shalt call his name JESUS. He shall be great, and shall be called the Son of the Highest: and the Lord God shall give unto him the throne of his father David:

Why do we doubt that the LORD will deliver us? The whole purpose in Jesus being born was so the He could rescue and deliver humanity. He shall be great. It was prophesied by the angel to Mary before Jesus was born and it is still true today. Twist together a cord of praise for great is the LORD and He is greatly to be praised! He is beautiful for situation! My situation.

As Chris Tomlin sings so beautifully, “How great is our God, sing with me, How great is our God, and all will see, how great is our God”.

How great is our God?!

