Tags

, , , , , ,

Matthew 7:18-20

A good tree cannot bring forth evil fruit, neither can a corrupt tree bring forth good fruit. Every tree that bringeth not forth good fruit is hewn down, and cast into the fire. Wherefore by their fruits ye shall know them.

Even a blind person can tell what kind of tree something came from by what the fruit smells and looks like.

I think we frustrate the grace of God in our lives at times. Galatians 2:21, “I do not frustrate the grace of God: for if righteousness come by the law, then Christ is dead in vain.” When we do all the religious things we can think of and we do everything the church wants us to do to be considered one of the spiritually mature ones, we frustrate the grace of God. You can dress up a tree in any costume you wish but when that tree begins to bear fruit you will know assuredly what it is on the inside of the costume.

Is all the religious things I’m doing making me sweeter, less agitated, less discouraged and causing me to love those around me more? Am I preaching how we need to be doing this and not doing that but becoming more agitated and “put out with that certain someone”? I don’t have to preach with my mouth near so much if the fruit of Christ’s love, joy and peace are evident in my life. Am I dressing, acting and doing what I do to score points with the LORD, to get Him to love me more and hear my prayers? Am I doing all these things and “preaching” it so people will feel like I’ve got it going on spiritually?

Then we wonder why people are turned off by religion and church. We rationalize it by claiming it’s a great falling away when in reality we’re asking people to eat our moldy, rotten and stinking fruit. I’m not going to condone and approve of someone’s wrong but that doesn’t mean I can’t feed them the fruits of love, joy and peace that will cause them to want the tree of life.

Precious Jesus help us to bring forth good fruit.

