Tags

, , , , ,

Psalm 5:3

My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O LORD; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up.

We speak words but we also have a voice. Words is what others hear but our voice is what we are really saying. Sometimes people say words to you but the voice behind the words is saying something entirely different.

The Psalmist says, “My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O LORD”. When I get up I am going to express to you how I really feel and see things.

We need to learn to get honest with the LORD. It seems that we can sometimes use our prayers to try and convince the LORD that we are righteous and spiritual, as if He doesn’t know us better that we know ourselves. It is not a bad thing to tell the LORD how you really feel about something and if you are angry, depressed or tempted in some area of your life. The LORD already knows those things. He is trying to help us discover where we are still unlike Jesus.

The Psalmist had discovered that he needed to begin each day by telling the LORD exactly how He felt and seeking help from above. That’s why he said, “in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up”. He knew his help was above and not within his own self or in this world. “In the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up”.

I would suggest that we need to quit trying to say the right words to the LORD and instead just let Him hear our voice as we look up to where Jesus Christ still rules and reigns from a throne of mercy and grace.

