Tags

, , , , , , , ,

1 John 3:16

Hereby perceive we the love of God, because he laid down his life for us: and we ought to lay down our lives for the brethren.

As human beings, in our mortality, we sometimes wonder if God hears our prayers or if He is ignoring them because He is mad at us or because perhaps He thinks we are idiots and not worth fooling with. It has always been an amazing thing to me how I so often assume that the LORD looks on me based on the way my humanity looks on others. That just is not the way it is and the LORD is not governed by mortality as I so often am. The truth is that Jesus loves me unconditionally and that’s why He died on Calvary’s cross for me. Jesus’ death on the cross at Calvary was the ultimate display and example of love that has ever been.

The Bible says that if we hate our brother we are a murderer. It goes on to say that we know we have the love of God in us if we love our brother. The love of God forgave me and took my punishment for me instead of sending me to death. Therefore when I have really entered the love of God completely and unreservedly, I am able to forgive my brother and love them enough that I am willing to leave their judgment up to the LORD. He is the one who judges from immortality and my judgment comes from mortality.

1 John 3:22, “And whatsoever we ask, we receive of him, because we keep his commandments, and do those things that are pleasing in his sight.” What is the commandment? That we love our brother as the LORD has loved us. When we learn to love our brother as the LORD loves us we will see our prayers begin to be answered in ways that we have never seen before. The LORD wants to answer our prayer and the answer to all prayers begin in and flows out of love, for God is love.

