Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Galatians 1:15-17

But when it pleased God, who separated me from my mother’s womb, and called me by his grace, To reveal his Son in me, that I might preach him among the heathen; immediately I conferred not with flesh and blood: Neither went I up to Jerusalem to them which were apostles before me; but I went into Arabia, and returned again unto Damascus.

 

It seems, as you read the Bible, that any time God has called a person or group to a special place or a special mission that a wilderness experience precedes it. You have this awesome experience in the Lord and get a vision of God’s purpose for your life and suddenly you then find yourself in a wilderness, as it were. Abraham had this experience when he left Ur of the Chaldees and began his journey. Jacob had that experience when he was forced from his father’s house because of his brother Esau. Joseph had that experience when he was sold into bondage by his very brothers. Jonah had to go to the bottom of the sea in the belly of a great fish. Israel ended up in a wilderness immediately after being miraculously delivered from bondage and Jesus had to be crucified, buried and spend three days in the grave in order to accomplish His mission, namely our salvation.

 

Even in the story of creation in Genesis chapter one, the darkness always came first before God’s next great creative act. And the evening and the morning were the first day. And the evening and the morning were the second day and so it was with each day with the evening always preceding the day and being first. So when I find myself in a dark wilderness place I can stand upon the truth knowing that God has brought me to that dark wilderness place in order to begin the next creative cycle in my life.

 

To God alone be all the glory!

