Tags

, , , , ,

 

Psalm 1:1-3

Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful. But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night. And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.

 

Everyone is always concerned about prospering and the secret to prospering is given to us in this passage of scripture. We prosper by guarding where we walk, where we stand and where we sit. How do we guard where we walk, stand and sit? We guard where we walk, stand and sit by meditating in the law of the LORD day and night.

 

What is the law of the LORD? According to Matthew 22:36-40 the law is loving the LORD with all your heart and loving your neighbor as yourself. Jesus said on these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.

 

So in the day when everything is good and my life is filled with warmth and pleasure I am to meditate on loving the LORD and my neighbor as myself. Then in the night when things aren’t going my way and it is cold and pain seems to be filling my life I need to meditate on loving the LORD and my neighbor as myself. If I concentrate on loving the LORD and my neighbor as myself in the day and in the night I will prosper in whatsoever I do.

 

What an awesome promise. I meditate on the love of God and sharing it with others and then God causes whatever I do to prosper. Wasn’t that Joseph’s experience even when his own brothers sold him into slavery?

 

Dear LORD in heaven above, please teach us to love.

