Tags

, , , , , , ,

Joshua 24:15

And if it seem evil unto you to serve the LORD, choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell: but as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.

 

At this point Israel had possessed Canaan’s Land and the LORD had given her rest from her enemies. Her leader, Joshua, was old and ready to die and he called all the leaders together to instruct them on the next phase of their national life, for when after he was gone to be with the LORD. Joshua then reminds them of everything the LORD had brought them through and makes the statement he made in Joshua 24:15. In so many words Joshua said, choose whom you will serve, the LORD or the other gods you have seen. Then Joshua makes the often quoted statement, “But as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.”

 

Look at what you’ve known in the past, choose whom you are going to serve and take a stand, “as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.” Because of Joshua’s exhortation that day, the children of Israel made a group decision. The people answered Joshua in verse eighteen and said, “Therefore will we also serve the LORD; for he is our God.”

 

In our journey from the bondage of sin into a victorious life in Jesus Christ we face many battles. We face battles within and battles without. As we approach the close of this dispensation, whether that be us personally or whether that be the whole world, according to God’s great Master Plan, we need to stop and look back on what the LORD has brought us through and renew our sacrifice of consecration upon the altar of God. Let us renew our choice again this day. As for me, I do not want to go back into the bondage of the past. The love and liberty of serving Jesus Christ is worth every price I have ever paid and worth every hardship and trial I have ever been through.

 

“As for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.”

