Tags

, , , , , , ,

Luke 6:37

Judge not, and ye shall not be judged: condemn not, and ye shall not be condemned: forgive, and ye shall be forgiven:

 

If we judge not we will not be judged. If we condemn not we will not be condemned and if we forgive we shall be forgiven. So we can conclude then that judging leads us to condemning and condemning gives birth to unforgiveness in my life. The trick then seems to be to not allow myself to assume the judgment seat to begin with. If I’m not judging I will not end up with a heart filled with unforgiveness.

 

The same Greek word translated as judge in Luke 6:37 is also used in 1 Corinthians 6:1 and is expressed in the English there as “go to law”.

 

1 Corinthians 6:1, Dare any of you, having a matter against another, go to law before the unjust, and not before the saints?

 

There is a lot of talk in today’s religious world about the grace of God versus living under the law. When I judge someone I am going back under the law of the Old Testament and negating the work of the Grace of God in my life. The way to not judge my brother is to remember what the grace of God has done in my life. I was guilty of sin and was estranged from the grace of God and deserved death and hell under the law when Jesus extended His forgiveness to me instead of judging me, condemning me and refusing to forgive me. Remember what Jesus has done for you and what He has forgiven you for and it will be an easy thing to then forgive others. No they may not deserve forgiveness but neither did I. But if Jesus didn’t judge and condemn me how then can I turn around and judge and condemn others?

