Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Psalm 104:1

Bless the LORD, O my soul. O LORD my God, thou art very great; thou art clothed with honour and majesty.

 

The old Christian hymn, How Great Thou Art, is based on a poem written by Carl Boberg in Sweden in 1885 and says it as well as it has ever been said. How great thou art! Then sings my soul, my Saviour God to thee, how great thou art!

 

How great thou art, O LORD my God. The word great in this particular scripture means to twist together or to bind together. It has to do with threads being twisted together like a rope and it expresses the idea of wrestling. So as we wrestle with someone or something we are twisted together with that.

 

Psalm 34:3 says, “O magnify the LORD with me, and let us exalt his name together.” When we magnify the LORD together and exalt His Name together we are not adding one thing to the LORD’s Name. How are we going to add anything to the LORD’s Name? What we are doing is twisting together my experience with His Name to your experience with His Name and thereby expanding our individual strand of experience into a much larger collective rope. This is why corporate worship as a community of believers is so important.

 

1 Thessalonians 5:18, “In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” As we praise our way through every situation of life we encounter we are adding threads of faith to our rope of faith. As we wrestle and overcome in every adversity by giving thanks “IN” everything, we are twisting together a strong rope of faith and thereby the LORD’s Name is magnified and exalted, in my eyes and in the eyes of those watching my life.

 

O LORD, how great thou art!

