Tags

, , , , ,

1 John 3:19-21

And hereby we know that we are of the truth, and shall assure our hearts before him. For if our heart condemn us, God is greater than our heart, and knoweth all things. Beloved, if our heart condemn us not, then have we confidence toward God.

 

The word confidence, as used in this passage of scripture, means freedom and unreservedness in speech, speaking openly, frankly or to speak without the use of figures and comparisons.

 

So when I have fulfilled the law by loving the LORD God with all my heart, soul and strength and then loved my neighbor as myself, not by saying it but by putting it into actions with deeds, I then can come to the LORD in confidence with a pure heart of love and whatsoever I ask for of Him, I shall receive. John 14:13, “And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.”

 

That was the example that Jesus set for us. He loved the Heavenly Father so much that He came to earth and performed deeds of love to others, loving His neighbor as Himself and even gave His life for His neighbor. Then after fulfilling the law, i.e. loving the LORD and His neighbor as Himself, He then received resurrection power so great that not even death could hold Him down. He was given all power. Matthew 28:18, “And Jesus came and spake unto them, saying, All power is given unto me in heaven and in earth.”

 

It doesn’t matter what great things you know and it doesn’t matter if you can quote the Bible from front to back and then from the back to the front. Does your heart condemn you when that certain person or that certain situation comes to your mind? Are you able to speak to the LORD openly and unreservedly with full confidence that you have loved the LORD with everything you have and that you have loved your neighbor as yourself?

 

We say I love you and yet we still feel that little bump inside. Where is the unreserved openness and vulnerability that Jesus displayed when He died for everyone? He didn’t give His life with an attitude of oh well the Father wants me to die for them but they’re not going the same place I am. All of our religious rituals and beliefs count for nothing if I’m not loving the LORD and loving my neighbor as myself. Not just saying it but putting it into action.

 

