Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Isaiah 55:8-9

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

 

So many times in life we find ourselves in that place where nothing makes sense. We wonder, what in the world is the Lord doing? How can God do this to me after I have served Him and tried to please Him all this time? If we are completely honest, with ourselves and with the Lord, we even think, at times, what’s the use, I must be cursed.

 

When life is beyond our understanding and it seems that everything is out of control we can stand upon the promise recorded here in Isaiah 55. “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

 

It seems to me that there must be much of an omnipotent, omniscient and omnipresent God that has never been revealed. There has to be parts of an infinite God that I know nothing about. God is not limited to answering my prayers and meeting my needs in ways that I understand. If God can make something out of nothing like He did the creation I live in then He is not limited to answering my prayers by things I understand.

 

In Genesis 2 the Lord saw that Adam needed a helpmeet. Adam couldn’t progress any further in the Lord’s plan for his life without some help. So the Lord put Adam to sleep and took a rib out of him and formed Adam a wife. The Lord didn’t make the answer to Adam’s situation out of anything Adam could see or understand in that garden. Rather the Lord reached down into somewhere Adam couldn’t see and had no experience with to get Adam’s answer.

 

Don’t despair today but rather rest in the Lord and trust Him because He is not limited to what we see and understand. There is a whole world we know nothing about. It is called the infinite God.

