Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Deuteronomy 8:11

Beware that thou forget not the LORD thy God, in not keeping his commandments, and his judgments, and his statutes, which I command thee this day:

 

To forget is to mislay, be oblivious of or cease to care about something. Now if someone were to tell us that we didn’t really care about the LORD our God we would most likely throw an unmitigated fit of denial, all the while profusely proclaiming how much we love the LORD and citing examples of how we have given our life to Him.

 

All of that displays how I feel about what I’ve done for the LORD. The deeper question is how do I feel about what the LORD has done for me? Do we speak with the same intensity when we talk about how the LORD has delivered us from the hands of our enemy and how He has taken care of us and provided for us in this life and the life to come?

 

Moses was reminding the children of Israel of the things the LORD had done for them as a nation and how He had brought them out of bondage and had never forsaken them through their wilderness experience. Moses was saying to the children of Israel that the LORD was getting ready to bring them into the Promised Land and prosper them and that in the prosperity of the fulfillment of the covenant they would be wise to not forget the LORD God.

 

We may not consciously make a choice to just forget about what the LORD has done for us but I think maybe sometimes we mislay that remembrance so that it is pushed to the back of our memory closet and out of sight. The only reason I live today is because the LORD God delivered me from yesterday and the only reason I have any success today is because the LORD God brought me to this place and gave me the tools and talents to do anything.

 

Let us not forget the LORD God lest when we enter the Promised Land He has given to us, our heart wanders from Him and our latter state become worse than what He delivered us from in the beginning.

 

