Tags

, , , ,

Titus 1:15-16

Unto the pure all things are pure: but unto them that are defiled and unbelieving is nothing pure; but even their mind and conscience is defiled. They profess that they know God; but in works they deny him, being abominable, and disobedient, and unto every good work reprobate.

 

Titus was an early Christian missionary and leader. He was a Gentile whom the Apostle Paul had led into Christianity. As Paul was instructing Titus in preparation for sending him out with the gospel he was telling Titus it’s about your spiritual condition first of all. I can be doing all kinds of good spiritual things but if I am doing that out of a desire to earn points with God and to climb up on a throne so everyone knows I’m spiritual, I’ve missed the whole point. Paul was saying to Titus don’t become entangled with all the spiritual gyrations the church thinks is necessary in order to be righteous and holy. Instead just concentrate on becoming holy in your thinking and in your spirit.

 

When I have a right relationship with Jesus Christ on the inside all I do comes from a desire to please Him and to maintain that connection with the lover of my soul. Whether I am on my job, mowing the grass, cleaning the house, washing the car or taking food to some poor soul in need it will all be to please the Lord and thus “Unto the pure all things are pure”.

 

On the other side of the coin if I am on my job, mowing the grass, cleaning the house, washing the car or taking food to some poor soul in need because I am trying to accomplish all the works required of a good Christian, I am “unto every good work reprobate”, because it was done from a selfish motive about me instead of about pleasing the Lord.

 

When I truly embrace the mercy and grace that Jesus Christ has filled my life with, that same mercy and grace will flow onto others around me out of a heart filled with the love of Jesus Christ.

 

