Tags

, , , , ,

Revelation 3:15-16

I know thy works, that thou art neither cold nor hot: I would thou wert cold or hot. So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth.

 

This passage of scripture was written to the church at Laodicea. The word Laodicea, in the Greek, means justice of the people. The city of Laodicea was destroyed by an earthquake in 66 A.D. It is thought that this was written sometime between 43 and 47 A.D. So it would seem that Laodicea, the justice of the people, was destroyed by earthquake, after being warned that their works were lukewarm.

The warning to Laodicea opens with a description of who is talking to Laodicea. It is the the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the beginning of the creation of God that is speaking to Laodicea. It may be concluded then that the justice of Laodicea’s works lacked the truth and faithfulness of the Creator who began all things. Thus Laodicea was destroyed by earthquake only a short time later.

What then is our attitude towards those who the Lord sends across our path? Is it a lukewarm attitude of, “Oh well, it’s their problem,” or do we reach out in the love and kindness of Jesus Christ with a helping hand, a smile, a prayer or a word encouragement, whether we are up or down that particular day or whether we are cold or hot emotionally or physically?

A sure way to have the truth and faithfulness of the Creator resting upon my works is to treat others with true justice regardless of the way I am feeling. Likewise when the truth and justice of the Creator is missing from my works I am on unstable ground and inviting disaster upon my lukewarm works.

