Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Job 5:2

For wrath killeth the foolish man, and envy slayeth the silly one.

 

Most likely we all can think of some angry and foolish person we feel like this most certainly could apply to. While it is true that there are foolish and silly people around us that are consumed with their wrath and envy, I must wonder how often my wrath and envy kills what the LORD is trying to accomplish in my life.

Somehow we always feel that our wrath at another person is justified and we certainly would never acknowledge being jealous of someone else. Is me being angry at someone else justified when they quite obviously were wrong? Ephesians 4:26 says, “Be ye angry, and sin not: let not the sun go down upon your wrath:” Even though our anger may be justified we are still warned to not let the sun go down upon our wrath. The flame of even justified anger needs to be put out before we go to sleep at night lest our subconscious and unconscious take justified anger and twist it into something out of control.

Then there is envy. Our envy is often confused with anger because most people never recognize the envy working in their life and if they do see it they would certainly never confess that they have envy working in their life. However the root of our anger with someone can be underlying envy. Underlying envy is one of the major contributing factors to the victim mentality in today’s society. Envy can manifest itself with me being critical of someone else and feeling like they don’t work as hard as me or they don’t treat me right or perhaps they don’t take care of what they have like I think they should.

Wrath kills the foolish and envy slays the silly one. I am the foolish and silly one when I allow wrath and envy to operate in my life.

