Tags

, , , ,

Isaiah 58:13-14

If thou turn away thy foot from the sabbath, from doing thy pleasure on my holy day; and call the sabbath a delight, the holy of the Lord, honourable; and shalt honour him, not doing thine own ways, nor finding thine own pleasure, nor speaking thine own words: then shalt thou delight thyself in the Lord; and I will cause thee to ride upon the high places of the earth, and feed thee with the heritage of Jacob thy father: for the mouth of the Lord hath spoken it.

 

The word Sabbath means to cease and put an end to.  It comes from the idea of just sitting down and being still. In Genesis 2:2 the Bible says, “And on the seventh day God ended his work which he had made; and he rested on the seventh day from all his work which he had made.” He rested on the seventh day or He had Sabbath on the seventh day. So it seems to me then that we can go to all the church we want but that still doesn’t mean we are resting from our works.

Resting from my works really is committing all my ways to the Lord and trusting in Him. It is about way more than whatever physical things that the Lord has given us to do. It is also about me always working to try and correct somebody else’s way of life. It’s also about me always working to ensure that everyone understands that I have it all figured out and I will help you straighten your life out if you will only do what I tell you. I can sit in a church all day and the whole time be striving and working within, judging and fixing everyone else’s life.

Why do we work so hard when we have been promised that if we will Sabbath, if we will cease from our own works, that the Lord who created all things will prosper us and supply our every need.

Let us place our trust in the Lord for He is well able to take care of us.

