Tags

, , , , , , ,

Revelation 3:18-19

I counsel thee to buy of me gold tried in the fire, that thou mayest be rich; and white raiment, that thou mayest be clothed, and that the shame of thy nakedness do not appear; and anoint thine eyes with eyesalve, that thou mayest see. As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent.

 

To counsel, as used here, is a joint giving and taking type of exchange. So while the Lord is asking us to repent or to change our mind about a thing, He is also desiring to receive from us.

We are being offered a deal of incredible and infinite value. We repent, we change our mind about our condition and in exchange we receive riches, clothing and eyesight.

The perception often seems to be that if I need to repent about something then I have done something horrible and God is really angry with me. However repentance is not some horrible experience that I must endure. Repentance is a give and take experience. I repent and in exchange I receive riches, clothing and eyesight.

Notice how that we don’t receive new eyesight until after we repent. One may conclude then that I must trust Jesus and repent based strictly on what He is speaking to my heart and not because I understand what is happening. It is then, after I have changed my mind, that the new eyesight comes and it is because I placed my trust in the Lord and not because of my own understanding. So I give to the Lord my trust and He gives to me riches, clothing and eyesight.

Count me in Jesus and teach me to repent.

