Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Galatians 2:20

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

 

The Apostle Paul made this statement to the church at Galatia right after he had confronted Peter about living a double life. Paul was sent to the Gentiles and Peter had been sent to the Jews. Nevertheless when Peter was among the Gentiles he lived after the manner of the Gentiles. Then when the Jews came, who had been sent by James, the pastor at Jerusalem, Peter lived as a Jew and admonished the Gentiles to do so also. Paul saw this as a great controversy and confronted it openly.

Immediately following this issue between Paul and Peter is when Paul makes the statement, “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.”

Crucified with Christ. Christ was crucified because He was rejected. Christ was not crucified until the Jews had rejected Him. Jesus was rejected for who he was and in spite of the evidence that accompanied the message He preached. As He told John the Baptist in Matthew 11:5, “The blind receive their sight, and the lame walk, the lepers are cleansed, and the deaf hear, the dead are raised up, and the poor have the gospel preached to them.”

This is what Paul was referring to. He was saying I have been rejected but it’s okay because I’m crucified with Christ and yet I still live by the faith of the Son of God who died for me.

Rejection is a huge issue. It is evident in all phases of life. Rejection has destroyed many lives because it is so ugly and devastating. It divides families, countries, churches and any other place where it is allowed to reign. Rejection is completely unlike Jesus Christ. Jesus Christ rejects no one who comes to Him but loves all unconditionally.

So when rejection sticks its ugly head into your life, look up because a new experience with the life of Christ, by His faith, is on its way.

