Tags

, , , , , , , ,

1 John 3:1

Behold, what manner of love the Father hath bestowed upon us, that we should be called the sons of God: therefore the world knoweth us not, because it knew him not.

 

John 1:12 says, “But as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the sons of God, even to them that believe on his name:

So we are called the sons of God. The Bible is not telling us that we are the only begotten Son of God but rather that we have the power to join the great brotherhood of the sons of God by believing on the name of the only begotten Son of God, even Jesus Christ.

If we have become a part of the brotherhood of the sons of God it is not because of anything we have done but rather because the manner of love that the Father hath bestowed upon us.

What manner of love is it that the Father hath bestowed upon us? It is unconditional and unmerited love as demonstrated on Calvary’s cross. I love it when that unconditional and unmerited love is poured out on my by the Lord. However if I am one of the sons of God then I have an obligation to share that unconditional and unmerited love with others as Jesus did with me.

Unconditional and unmerited. That means loving my neighbor regardless of who they are or where they came from. It means loving my neighbor regardless of what they believe or what color they are. If I’m having an issue doing that then I need to go back and look at where I was and what my life looked like when the Father shared His unconditional and unmerited love with me in the form of His only begotten Son, the LORD Jesus Christ. If I truly understand God’s love to me I will have no problem loving the LORD with all my being and loving my neighbor as my myself.

