Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Ruth 1:16-17

And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God: Where thou diest, will I die, and there will I be buried: the LORD do so to me, and more also, if ought but death part thee and me.

 

There once was a famine in the Promised Land and so a man named Elimelech and his wife, Naomi, and their two sons went to sojourn in the land of Moab. What a shame that there was a famine in the Promised Land when it had been such a bountiful and rich place when God’s people had first possessed it.

While in Moab, the two sons of Elimelech and Naomi had married women of Moab. In the course of time, Elimelech and his two son’s had died. Later Naomi received word that the LORD had visited His people and blessed them and so Naomi felt compelled to return unto the land of Judah.

As she set out on her journey, her two daughters-in-law began the journey with her. As the two daughters-in-law were native to Moab, Naomi tried to convince them both to stay there as Naomi felt she had nothing else left to offer them. The one, Orpah, turned back but the other, Ruth declared boldly to Naomi, “whither thou goest, I will go.”

Ruth did not follow Naomi to Judah because she thought Naomi would have another son that she could marry and he would take care of her. It was painfully apparent that season of life was over. Ruth followed Naomi to Judah because of the Godly life that Naomi had lived in front of Ruth. Naomi’s service to God in a foreign land caused Ruth to understand there was a better way of life.

I wonder if our life, as Christians, in the midst of the famine of truth that prevails in today’s religious and political climate, is such that someone would be willing to forsake all they have been born into and follow us to Judah, a better way of life?

