Tags

, , , , , ,

Romans 6:10-12

For in that he died, he died unto sin once: but in that he liveth, he liveth unto God. Likewise reckon ye also yourselves to be dead indeed unto sin, but alive unto God through Jesus Christ our Lord. Let not sin therefore reign in your mortal body, that ye should obey it in the lusts thereof.

 

“Let not sin therefore reign in your mortal body.” Since we are told here that whether sin reigns in our mortal body or not is our choice, then it would seem, to me, that the matter of sin reigning in my mortal body, comes down to a choice. How simple is that? However just because something is simple, does not mean that it is easy. Likewise, just because something is simple does not mean that it doesn’t require effort. Although it comes down to a simple choice and an act of obedience in each situation, that does not mean that it is necessarily without a struggle.

How many times have we looked at someone’s situation and thought, that’s simple, all they need to do is this or that? The person involved can even acknowledge that the simple answer is a certain thing and yet they seem to be unable to do that very thing and thus continue going round and round on the merry-go-round.

“Let not sin therefore reign in your mortal body.” It is a conscious choice to be obedient to the truth in that situation. How do I determine the truth for that particular situation? There are three questions that you can ask yourself in each situation that will guide to the truth.

1) What would Jesus do?

2) If it were me in that situation how would I want my neighbor to treat me?

3)What does God’s Word say?

Once I determine those things I can choose to be obedient regardless of the opposition I may receive from without or within.

This is the fulfillment of the law. Matthew 22:40, “On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.”

