Tags

, , , , , , ,

Psalm 34:1

I will bless the LORD at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth.

 

What a bold confession and strong stand the Psalmist takes here. He will bless the LORD at all times and His praise shall continually be in His mouth? I dare say, based on my life’s experiences, that is no small accomplishment. How many times do we find ourselves 30 minutes or a couple of hours or maybe even a day or two, into a situation when we realize we have not yet blessed the LORD in the middle of what is happening and, the words in our mouth, while walking through that situation, are certainly not the praises of God? What a bold confession for the Psalmist to say, “I will bless the LORD at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth.”

I can testify, however, that it is possible to walk in a Christ consciousness and to bless the LORD at all times with His praise continually in our mouth. The mistake we make is that we are so practiced at immediately looking at the negative in situations that we end up way down the road from blessing the LORD at all times with His praise continually in our mouths.

Although it seems that some circumstances of life are completely negative with no positives to look at, there is always at least one positive in every situation and that is the Christ of Calvary. Although the crucifixion of Christ at Calvary was an horrible death and seemingly unpleasant scene to witness, yet it is the greatest thing that has ever happened in my life. From all the pain and death of Calvary I have everlasting life.

John 12:32, “And I, if I be lifted up from the earth, will draw all men unto me. ”We are sometimes placed into the middle of unpleasant and negative situations to be the one who lifts up Jesus from the earth by blessing the LORD at all times with His praise continually in our mouth. That is why that, in 1 Thessalonians 5:18, we are instructed to give thanks “in” everything and not necessarily “for” everything. I cannot give thanks that someone is being misused or abused but I can certainly give thanks that I was the one chosen to lift up Jesus in the middle of that situation so that all men might be drawn to the LORD.

Blessed Jesus please bring us to the place where we can walk in a Christ consciousness and awareness so that we may bless the LORD at all times with His praise continually in our mouths.

