Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Romans 6:1-2

What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound? God forbid. How shall we, that are dead to sin, live any longer therein?

 

If we have  been to Calvary, by faith, and accepted Jesus’ crucifixion on the cross there as the price for our sin, how can we continue in sin? To understand the price that Jesus’ paid for me personally that I might be reconciled to my Creator and the lover of my soul, completely destroys any desire I may have to continue in sin.

Although the inherent faults, failures and weaknesses of my humanity may surface from time to time, yet if I truly understand the death Jesus Christ suffered for me, I will in no way, shape or form choose to allow those frailties of humanity to control me. Romans 13:14 says, “But put ye on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make not provision for the flesh, to fulfil the lusts thereof.” So the moment I understand that the lust of the flesh is raising its ugly head in my humanity I can immediately, by faith, return to my experience with Jesus at Calvary’s cross and that lust of the flesh is left where Jesus placed it and I then walk on in the resurrection life of Christ Jesus.

Jesus’ death of crucifixion was sufficient. What more could He have done to deliver me from the body of this death? The price has been paid and the work has been finished. The only thing I must now do is to believe that. As it was said of Abraham, the Father of Faith, “And the scripture was fulfilled which saith, Abraham believed God, and it was imputed unto him for righteousness: and he was called the Friend of God.” James 2:23. There is nothing more that I must do other than to believe that and accept it into my life.

We do not have to live in defeat, dejection or depression. Sin does not have to control us. Jesus died for me and was raised by the resurrection power of God Almighty. Believe that today, accept it into your life and walk in victory. Matthew 5:14, “Ye are the light of the world. A city that is set on an hill cannot be hid.”

