Tags

, , , , ,

Romans 8:16

The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God:

 

When we accept the LORD Jesus Christ as our Savior and He comes to live in our heart it is just like when He created the heavens and the earth in Genesis 1:2, “And the earth was without form, and void; and darkness was upon the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God moved upon the face of the waters.” The Spirit of God comes and moves upon the face of the waters in our heart and begins a new creation.

We know that this has happened when the Spirit of God bears witness with our spirit confirming that we have experienced a new birth and that we are now the children of God.

What then is this bearing witness? Romans 9:1, “I say the truth in Christ, I lie not, my conscience also bearing me witness in the Holy Ghost,” Bearing witness means my conscious is agreeing with what the Spirit of God is telling me. If I have in fact experienced this new creation in my heart then there is a change in my unconscious being that manifests itself in my conscious. I see things differently and my priorities become loving the LORD with all my being and then loving my neighbor as myself. I approach life doing unto others as I would have them do unto me. I do that because I understand the new creation the Spirit of God has brought to birth in my heart in the middle of where I was. I can then share that love with others regardless of who they are and regardless of what their problems and issues may be. So my spirit and the Spirit of God bear witness together, as evidenced by a change in the works I produce.

3 John 1:11, “Beloved, follow not that which is evil, but that which is good. He that doeth good is of God: but he that doeth evil hath not seen God.” What is your conscious bearing witness to today? Are we doing good or evil? Are we loving the LORD with all our being and are we loving our neighbor as ourself?

