Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Matthew 16:15-17

He saith unto them, But whom say ye that I am? And Simon Peter answered and said, Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God. And Jesus answered and said unto him, Blessed art thou, Simon Barjona: for flesh and blood hath not revealed it unto thee, but my Father which is in heaven.

 

The Pharisees were afflicted with spiritual pride because they practiced all the religious rituals perfectly. The Sadducees were sad because they didn’t believe in the resurrection. That seems to be a perfect representation of today’s church to me. Either we are the greatest there ever was because we practice our religion so well or else we go around defeated and sad because we don’t feel like we will ever be resurrected from the circumstances we are in.

When we are infected with the doctrine of the Pharisee and the Sadducee we don’t see Christ in the midst of everything in our life. The evidence that I’m not seeing Christ in the middle of everything happening in my life is unforgiveness. The moment I take my eyes off of Christ in the midst of all things and instead put my eyes on the circumstance or people involved in the situation I have assumed the judgment seat. In short order I begin to decide who is wrong and who is right. I begin to decide who is a Pharisee and acting spiritual and who is a Sadducee and will never be resurrected. The immediate result of that is unforgiveness.

When we see Christ in the middle of our life, regardless of how many Pharisees or Sadducees are around, then I can forgive because I understand how Christ forgave me. When I see Christ for who He is, then I humbly bow at His feet and allow Him to assume His rightful place on the judgment seat.

When we see Christ for who He is and allow Him to assume His rightful place on the judgment seat we are able to forgive. The keys of the kingdom of heaven are given to those who see Christ as the all in all and thus forgive others as they have been forgiven.

With the keys of the kingdom of heaven in our hands we are able to bind and to loose then with the love and forgiveness of Christ flowing through our life and then out to others.

Dear Jesus, please teach us to love and forgive as you do.

