Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Jeremiah 1:7-9

But the LORD said unto me, Say not, I am a child: for thou shalt go to all that I shall send thee, and whatsoever I command thee thou shalt speak. Be not afraid of their faces: for I am with thee to deliver thee, saith the LORD. Then the LORD put forth his hand, and touched my mouth. And the LORD said unto me, Behold, I have put my words in thy mouth.

 

Jeremiah’s conversation with the LORD in this passage is reminiscent of the interaction between the LORD and Moses when the LORD met with Moses. Both Moses and Jeremiah knew the LORD well and the LORD had protected both of them since birth. They were both well educated about the God of Israel yet they both offered excuses to the LORD about why they couldn’t do what He had told them to do. It was as if they forgot that the LORD is omnipresent, omniscient and omnipotent and they needed to remind the LORD of their shortcomings.

The LORD was clear with Jeremiah. Don’t make excuses, you shall go where I send you and you will speak what I tell you to say. Discussion over! Then the LORD touched Jeremiah’s mouth and said, “Behold, I have put my words in thy mouth.” Behold, get a vision of this Jeremiah, I have put my words in your mouth.

Matthew 10:19 says, “But when they deliver you up, take no thought how or what ye shall speak: for it shall be given you in that same hour what ye shall speak.” We don’t have to fear. When the LORD allows us to be in those difficult places in life and it seems that all around us is chaos and storms we can rest assured that the LORD is with us as God’s Word says in Matthew 1:23, “Behold, a virgin shall be with child, and shall bring forth a son, and they shall call his name Emmanuel, which being interpreted is, God with us.”

God is with us! God is with you! Speak the truth into your situation. As the LORD has protected you and brought you to this point so will He be with you as you go forward into what He has called you to be and to do in this life.

