Tags

, , , , , ,

1 Peter 2:9-10

But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light: Which in time past were not a people, but are now the people of God: which had not obtained mercy, but now have obtained mercy.

 

To be a chosen generation means that I have been picked out and chosen by God to receive salvation through Christ. Simply put it means that I was personally chosen by God to fulfill and complete a specific part in His great Master Plan. Through completing that particular part of His grand master plan I will obtain salvation. I’m not talking about my initial conversion experience when I accepted Jesus Christ into my heart as the Lord of my life. Rather I am talking about being saved to the uttermost as the Bible talks about in Hebrews 7:25, “Wherefore he is able also to save them to the uttermost that come unto God by him, seeing he ever liveth to make intercession for them.”  In Philippians 2 :12 we read, “Wherefore, my beloved, as ye have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.” So it is one thing to love the Lord with all my being and a different thing to love my neighbor as my myself.

We sometimes end up in situations of life that are so absurd and so convoluted that there is no way that a human being could dream that kind of mess up. It’s in those times that we are so quick to blame the mess on some person. While there may be a human being at the bottom of the mess yet Jesus Christ is the Chief Cornerstone and it is He who has been made the head of the corner. So while it may be evil opposition or some flawed human being causing problems in our life yet the Chief Cornerstone is bigger than all of that and goes way out above all of that. Jesus Christ is bigger than all the wrong in this world and He is bigger than all the wrong in my life.

