Tags

, , , , , ,

1 John 4:20-21

If a man say, I love God, and hateth his brother, he is a liar: for he that loveth not his brother whom he hath seen, how can he love God whom he hath not seen? And this commandment have we from him, That he who loveth God love his brother also.

 

The measuring stick to determine whether or not I truly love God is if I love my brother or not. The Bible is real blunt on this topic. “If a man say, I love God, and hateth his brother, he is a liar.”

There are those who will say that a brother is someone who is also a Christian and has accepted Christ’s blood as we have for eternal salvation. While that is true and that does make us Christian brothers we are also created brothers. We all came from the same Creator and that makes us all members of the same created brotherhood. In addition to that we can be members of the redeemed brotherhood. Therefore just because someone has not experienced eternal salvation by the blood of Jesus Christ does not mean we are not brothers. “If a man say, I love God, and hateth his brother, he is a liar.” If a man say I love God. God is the Creator and His only begotten Son is Jesus Christ.

Just because we don’t approve of someone’s behavior or way of life doesn’t mean that we can’t love them. I’m certain that there are things in everyone’s life that the Lord doesn’t approve of and yet He loves us. In fact He loves us so much that He sent His only begotten Son to die for us and pay the ransom for our soul.

“If a man say, I love God, and hateth his brother, he is a liar.” Jesus please have mercy on my ignorance, show me where I hate my brother and teach me to love as you do.

