Tags

, , , , , , ,

Matthew 18:32-35

Then his lord, after that he had called him, said unto him, O thou wicked servant, I forgave thee all that debt, because thou desiredst me: Shouldest not thou also have had compassion on thy fellowservant, even as I had pity on thee? And his lord was wroth, and delivered him to the tormentors, till he should pay all that was due unto him. So likewise shall my heavenly Father do also unto you, if ye from your hearts forgive not every one his brother their trespasses.

 

Unforgiveness makes the Lord wroth. Wroth is more than just mildly upset. Since our Lord and Savior bows in humility to an inferior and forgives us, the created, how is it we have such trouble forgiving our equal, another finite created human being?

If the Lord is wroth with me how can I expect blessings, peace and His graciousness to be making a way for me? Instead I can look forward to torment until I have paid all my debt. My brother’s debt to me is not near as great as my debt to the Lord was that He forgive for me. How is it that when I have experienced such great forgiveness I am not able to then forgive a smaller debt owed me? Obviously I feel like I am more deserving of forgiveness from the Lord than my brother is of me. No wonder then that unforgiveness makes the Lord wroth.

In Matthew 22 there was a king who sent his servants out to bid guests to his son’s wedding. Then those who were invited rose up and slew the king’s servants that were sent unto them. The fact that those who had received an invitation to the son’s wedding killed the messenger, caused the king to be wroth. Matthew 22:7, “But when the king heard thereof, he was wroth: and he sent forth his armies, and destroyed those murderers, and burned up their city.”

Unforgiveness, on my part, is equivalent in severity to killing the servants of the king that bring to me an invitation to the wedding of the king’s son. Unforgiveness causes the Lord to be wroth with me.

Dear Jesus, thank you for the forgiveness you have granted unto me and please teach me to share that forgiveness with those that have trespassed against me.

