Tags

, , , , , ,

Matthew 13:44

Again, the kingdom of heaven is like unto treasure hid in a field; the which when a man hath found, he hideth, and for joy thereof goeth and selleth all that he hath, and buyeth that field.

 

Treasure hid in a field! Yes, count me in. One meaning of the Greek word that is translated in this passage of scripture as, hid, is to escape notice. To escape notice! How simple. How many times have I been looking for my glasses and they were in my hand or on my face? How many times have I been looking for my cell phone and it was in my hand? How many times have I been looking for God in a situation and He was right there and I failed to recognize it.

Once upon a time, in Matthew 14, Jesus had sent His disciples across the sea ahead of Him. As the disciples were attempting to do as the Master had commanded them to do, there arose a storm. In the midst of that storm Jesus came walking on the water to His disciples. The disciples did not recognize Jesus as He approached them and the Bible says they were afraid. Jesus spoke to the disciples and said, be not afraid, it is I. It was at that point that Peter thought he was big enough to walk on the water and subsequently learned that the only way to successfully walk on the water during a storm was by keeping his eyes on Jesus and his hand in Jesus’ hand.

Now we could look down on the disciples and think, how dumb could they be to not recognize Jesus after spending so much time with Him? Yet how many times have we ended up in a storm, when we were trying to do what we felt like the Lord wanted us to do, and wondered if God was anywhere near? How many times have I failed to notice the kingdom of heaven right in the middle of my circumstances? Of course Jesus is with me! As he said in Hebrews 13:5, “Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.”

